The core functionality of the Volunteer Pool is that the organizers can actively approach volunteers themselves.

Since organizers prefer to have an answer to their request as soon as possible (even if that answer is negative), each 'pool' is only useful as far as the volunteers are active. If organizers don't get an answer, they won't see the value.

Users/volunteers, on the other hand, should never feel that they are inundated with requests and reminders. After all, such a feeling can lead to unsubscribing from the volunteer pool or, worse, even leaving the platform.

To balance these two goals, we use a system to keep the volunteer pool filled with volunteers who are actively looking for fun and matching volunteer work.

Active and Inactive Members

An 'active member' is a user/volunteer who responds to requests within four weeks. If the user does not do this, we will respond for them or they will be removed from the 'pool'. This works like this:

  1. If a volunteer does not respond to a Reachout from an organization for 2 weeks, he/she will receive a reminder email.

  2. If a volunteer does not respond to a Reachout for 4 weeks, we will send a “final call” email. This email has two flavors: one for an 'active member' and one for an 'inactive member':

    1. If the user DOES respond to one or more other Reachouts in the past four weeks, we consider that member to be 'active'. In that case, we'll send a "Reply now or we'll reply 'no' on your behalf" email.

    2. If the user has NOT replied to one or more other Reachouts in the past four weeks, we will consider that member as 'inactive'. In that case, we'll send an "Reply now or we'll remove you from the volunteer pool" email. With the announcement that of course they can always register again.

  3. After 4 weeks and 4 days of no response, we reject all pending Reachouts on behalf of the user and send an automatic message to the organizer: "No thanks. This is an automatic message".

Respond with the click of a mouse

To make it as easy as possible for the user / volunteer they can respond with the click of a mouse. Each email has two buttons:

  • Send an automatic reply (We reply: "No thanks")

  • I want to answer myself

The third option is do nothing and then we go through the above process.

Example of an email from the series.

For platform administrators

If you as a platform administrator want to be kept informed, there is the possibility to receive an email when the "last call" email is sent. This then gives you four days to try and activate the volunteer. Contact your Partnership Manager or Deedmob Consultant if you want to turn this on/off.


In this way we keep the volunteer pool filled with volunteers who are actively looking for fun and appropriate volunteer work!

Did this answer your question?