If an opportunity has already started, it is marked 'past'. In contrast to opportunities that are set to 'full', you can't just open a past opportunity again. The end date of the opportunity is in the past.

Changing the start date automatically opens the opportunity.

You can change the end date via Edit > Date and time (click on) > indicate an end date in the future.

Did this answer your question?